Life Members

Life Members

Life membership of the Australian Local Government Womens' Association WA Branch is awarded to individuals who have made an outstanding overall contribution to furthering Women in Local Government in Western Australia. Nominations for Life Membership can be submitted each year at the AGM for consideration.

The benefits of being awarded life membership include:

  • Exemption from membership fees
  • Listing on the ALGWA (WA Branch) website and other official documentation
  • Status of being a member of a select group within ALGWA
  • Ability to include award recognition on Curriculum Vitae

We thank our following Life Members for their contributions to furthering women in Local Government: 


  • Anne

    Anne Banks-McAllister (AM)

    An advocate for gender equality, Anne is a Past President and Life Member of the Local Government Women’s Association (WA), past Board Member of LG Professionals and was a member of the Ministerial Advisory Committee on Women in Local Government. Anne was made a Member of the Order of Australia in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2018 for her contribution to gender equality, particularly in Local Government.
  • Heather

    Heather Henderson (OAM)

    Heather spent 13 years as a Subiaco councillor, and then put her hand up for Mayor in 2005 after her neighbour encouraged her to apply. After serving as Mayor for 12-and-a-half years, she decided to step away. In 2017, Heather was named the City’s first Freeman in nearly 15 years. In 2019, Heather was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia
  • Janet

    Janet Davidson (JP)

    Elected to the City of Perth in 1998, Janet Davidson was Deputy Lord Mayor in 2009 & 2011. She is a Justice of the Peace, holds a Master’s degree in Management from UWA, a GAICD and is a trained teacher. She is also a member of the Australian Institute of Management and Australian Institute of Company Directors. Janet joined the WAWAs in 1998 to help encourage women to join Local Government, and assisted in obtaining a grant for $30,000 to attract more women to Local Government across Western Australia. On reflection of her time spent in the Association, Janet says "Attending conferences was very rewarding and dynamic to enhance one's skills and meet a myriad of people."
  • Marion

    Marion Blair (OAM)

    Marion Blair was the WAWA's inaugural Chairperson and 1st President. Marion was previously a councillor with the City of Mandurah and also with the City of Belmont where she was Deputy Mayor for nine years. In 2015, she was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in the General Division for service to local government, to the community of Perth and to women.
  • Elizabeth

    Elizabeth Re

    Elizabeth has worked for over 30 years for state and local governments in sustainability, environmental and public health. She was given the honour of being made Fellow of Environmental Health Australia for her services in the field of environmental public health and promotion of women in the workforce. Elizabeth was the first woman appointed as Principal Health and Building Inspector in local government in Western Australia. Her advocacy on behalf of women and diversity in the workplace was recognised in 2010 with an award for Australian Ambassador for Women for the Year of Women in local government. She is the founder of several local community organisations and believes community consultation and education are paramount to delivering good services and value for ratepayers and families. Elizabeth has held many executive position on the ALGWA WA committee over many years, including President in 2012 and Vice President in 2013.

Upcoming Events:

No events available at this time.